Posted on 06. Feb, 2012 in News

Victorian Opposition Leader Daniel Andrews has today announced minor changes to Labor’s Shadow Ministry.

As part of the changes, Deputy Leader James Merlino has been appointed the new Shadow Minister for Education, while the newest member of the Shadow Cabinet, John Eren, is now responsible for the Sport and Recreation and Volunteers portfolios.

Jacinta Allan has added the portfolio of Police and Emergency Services and will continue in her role as Manager of Opposition Business, and Shadow Minister for Regional and Rural Development and Bushfire Response.

Luke Donnellan is now Labor’s Shadow Minister for Roads, Road Safety and the TAC, while Jenny Mikakos will retain her portfolios as well as taking on the responsibility for the Children and Young Adults portfolio.

Danielle Green has been appointed to the portfolios of Child Safety and Women, and retains her roles as Shadow Minister for Disability Services and Health Promotion.

“The Baillieu Government has let down Victorian voters by wasting its first 14 months in office,” Mr Andrews said.

“We are a united team that’s focused on continuing to hold this do-nothing Government to account.

“Victorians need a Government that can make the hard decisions and do the hard work to create jobs and drive investment, not a Premier who is unable and even appears unwilling to lead.

“Ted Baillieu needs to start leading this state, not just watch on as jobs are lost, hospital beds are shut and schools are forced to cut programs because of budget cuts.”

The following members of caucus will serve as Parliamentary Secretaries to Shadow Ministers in portfolios as listed:

  • Colin Brooks (Education),
  • Anthony Carbines (Local Government and Suburbs),
  • Martin Foley (Environment and Planning),
  • Jane Garrett (Police and Emergency Services),
  • Judith Graley (Leader of the Opposition),
  • Natalie Hutchins (Public Transport),
  • Frank McGuire (Scrutiny of Government),
  • Don Nardella (Leader of the Opposition),
  • Wade Noonan (Health),
  • Jude Perera (Multicultural Affairs),
  • Jaala Pulford (Regional and Rural Development and Agriculture), and
  • Gayle Tierney (Employment).




Opposition   Leader


Veterans’ Affairs,

Multicultural   Affairs



Deputy Opposition   Leader



Leader Legislative Council

Agriculture &   Food Security,Water, Resources,


GAVIN JENNINGSDeputy Leader Legislative Council Health, Mental   Health
JACINTA ALLAN  Opposition   Business, Regional & Rural Development,Bushfire Response,   Police & Emergency Services


LILY D’AMBROSIO Consumer   Protection, Energy, Cost of Living, Suburbs 
LUKE DONNELLAN Roads, Road Safety   & the TAC
JOHN EREN Sport &   Recreation,Volunteers
DANIELLE GREEN Child Safety,   Disability Services, Health Promotion, Women
JILL HENNESSY Corrections, Crime   Prevention,Anti-Corruption   Commission
STEVE HERBERT Higher Education,Skills &   Apprenticeships,

Teaching Profession

TIM HOLDING Shadow Treasurer,Industry
JUSTIN MADDEN Innovation, Small   Business,Tourism & Major   Events
JENNY MIKAKOS Seniors & Ageing, Children & Young Adults,   Youth Justice
LISA NEVILLE Environment & Climate Change,Arts
MARTIN PAKULA Shadow Attorney   General,Gaming &   Racing, Opposition Scrutiny of Government
TIM PALLAS Employment,   Industrial Relations,Ports, Major   Projects & Infrastructure
ROBIN SCOTT Finance, Workcover
ADEM SOMYUREK Technology,Manufacturing,

Electoral Reform

BRIAN TEE Planning,   Sustainable Growth
RICHARD WYNNE Housing,Local Government,

Aboriginal Affairs   & Closing the Gap, A FairerVictoria


CANDY BROAD Shadow Cabinet   Secretary










Comments are closed.