New train timetable delivers more services for Pakenham and Cranbourne line passengers

Posted on 28. Apr, 2010 in Clayton Update

A new train timetable for Melbourne will begin on 6 June 2010, bringing new peak services and operating changes for Pakenham and Cranbourne line passengers.

The new services are made possible by the arrival of new X’Trapolis trains for Melbourne, as well as new stopping patterns to improve network efficiency.

Clayton MP Hong Lim welcomed the timetable announcement.

“As of 6 June this year, 211 new and extended weekly services will be added to the network, including 71 new services every week on the Pakenham and Cranbourne lines,” Hong Lim said.

“Ten of these weekly services will be in the morning peak, and 25 in the evening peak. This will make a great difference for people travelling to and from the city.

“Importantly, the new June timetable is designed to boost on-time performance through some simple changes to train stopping patterns on the Pakenham and Cranbourne lines.

“In the morning peak, city-bound trains will travel express from Caulfield to South Yarra. Journey times will be reduced by up to five minutes due to this change in stopping patterns. People with a destination of Malvern, Armadale, Toorak or Hawksburn are advised to change to a Frankston line service at Caulfield station.

“In the afternoon peak, out-bound trains will run express from South Yarra to Caulfield. Passengers who are travelling to Hawksburn, Toorak, Armadale or Malvern from the city will need to take a Frankston ‘stopping all stations’ service from any city station.

“These restructured stopping patterns will ensure more even train loadings on the line, which in turn will reduce dwell times, improve reliability and increase capacity. This has a positive knock-on effect for the entire train network, and is an important step as we move towards a modern, metro-style rail system.

“It’s very important that people know to pick up a new timetable from their local station once they become available on 23 May. There will be changes to train times, stopping patterns, and whether or not they travel through the City Loop or run direct to Flinders Street Station.

“People can also find out in more detail about the new timetables by visiting or”

New services


  • Dandenong 7.24am arriving Flinders Street 8.16am
  • Cranbourne 7.19am arriving Flinders Street 8.23am (express Malvern to South Yarra)
  • Flinders Street 4.30pm arriving Oakleigh 5.00pm (express South Yarra to Malvern, via loop)
  • Flinders Street 4.46pm arriving Oakleigh 5.15pm (express South Yarra to Caulfield, via loop)
  • Flinders Street 6.14pm arriving Oakleigh 6.44pm (express South Yarra to Caulfield, via loop)
  • Flinders Street 5.04pm arriving Dandenong 5.54pm (express South Yarra to Caulfield)
  • Flinders Street 5.28pm arriving Pakenham 6.41pm (express South Yarra to Caulfield to Oakleigh, Clayton to Springvale, Noble Park to Dandenong)

Off peak and Counter peak                

  • Dandenong 5.09am arriving Pakenham 5.33am
  • Dandenong 2.55pm arriving Flinders Street 3.35pm (express Malvern to South Yarra)
  • Dandenong 3.10pm arriving Flinders Street 3.53pm (express Malvern to South Yarra)
  • Flinders Street 3.36pm arriving Dandenong 4.26pm (express South Yarra  to Malvern)
  • Flinders Street 3.56pm arriving Oakleigh 4.29pm (stopping all stations, via loop)
  • Dandenong 4.37pm arriving Flinders Street 5.20pm (stopping all stations)
  • Oakleigh 5.10pm arriving Flinders Street 5.33pm (stopping all stations)
  • On Sundays, a new Cranbourne 7.57am to Dandenong, with a connection to arrive at Flinders Street  at 9.04am

To view the Victorian Government Transport Plan, go to:-

Comments are closed.