Posted on 23. Apr, 2010 in Clayton Update

Member for Clayton, Mr Hong Lim, proudly announced today the Monash Sustainability Institute and Vega Press as winners in the 2010 Premier’s Sustainability Awards. 

“I would like to commend the Monash Sustainability Institute and Vega Press on their achievement in their respective categories. Their commitment to sustainability and improving our community’s environmental impact is inspiring,” Mr Lim said.

The Premier’s Sustainability Awards recognises innovation and outstanding achievement in the sustainable use of natural resources to benefit all Victorians.

The Monash Sustainability Institute took top honour in the Tertiary Education category for its Green Steps Program, contending with Melbourne University and Swinburne University of Technology for the award.

Monash was recognised for implementing an integrated program by students for students which offers them skills and knowledge to drive environmentally sustainable practices within organisations and the wider community.

Vega Press secured the Small Business award due to a significant decrease in their water use and waste. They demonstrated a strong dedication to working with its suppliers and contractors to maintain a green supply chain that includes using paper sourced from sustainable forests and eco-friendly inks, and increasing the volume of material recycled.

The environmentally sound printing business competed with Horsham House Bed and Breakfast and The Living Edge Group P/L in the Small Business category. 

“The Monash Sustainable Institute and Vega Press have risen to the challenge in tackling climate change. They have shown leadership in their fields of expertise and are helping all Victorian through their actions.” Mr Lim said.

The Victorian Government’s commitment to sustainability is delivered through many major policy, strategy and program initiatives. 

Commitments include Towards Zero Waste, a strategy designed to minimise waste and maximise resource recovery; and Climate Communities, a new program to promote voluntary action on climate change and provide funding, grants and rebates. 

Winners of the Premier’s Sustainability Awards were announced in a ceremony hosted by Collingwood Football Club President Eddie McGuire at the six-star green star-rated Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.


The Awards’ sponsors were TRUenergy, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Publishers National Environment Bureau, La Trobe University, Rheem/Edwards Solar Hot Water/Solahart, Sensis, the TAFE Development Centre, SITA Environmental Solutions and Yarra Valley Water.

Comments are closed.