MEMBERS STATEMENTS – Schools: Clayton electorate

Posted on 28. Apr, 2010 in Speeches

Tuesday, 13 April 2010

Mr LIM (Clayton) — I congratulate the following schools in my electorate. On 22 February I attended Clayton South Primary School and met the new principal, Lynne Dickins, and their 2010 school captains. Ms Dickins informed me of the work of the Halogen Foundation, a non‑profit organisation that aims to inspire and influence young people to lead themselves and to lead others. The Clarinda Lions Club supported the school by sponsoring four students, school captains Gity Amiri and Stephen Ghosh, and sports captains Justin La and Madonna Tangiau, to attend the Halogen Foundation National Young Leaders Day at the Melbourne Convention Centre on 12 March. The Halogen Foundation is supported by the Brumby government and the National Young Leaders Day has become one of the largest and most significant leadership events in Australia. I am confident the experience will encourage the young leaders to help their fellow students and school community.

On 17 March I attended a local leadership group of six primary schools at Clayton Primary School. This was a two‑day program involving student leaders from Clayton primary, Clayton North primary, Huntingdale primary, Amsleigh Park primary, Oakleigh primary and Sussex Heights primary schools. School principals Darren McDonald, Rukshana Verzijl, Monica Scully, Frank Catalano, Cheryl Sanders and Michael Cormick are to be commended for the operation of the program which identifies potential leaders from their schools and teaches them about leadership.

Comments are closed.