Posted on 23. Sep, 2010 in News

Victoria’s Total Fire Ban district boundaries will now align with the Fire Danger Ratings, Victorian Bureau of Meteorology weather districts and local government areas, Member for Clayton, Hong Lim said today.

“The Brumby Labor Government is bringing in this change to reduce confusion and ensure the public receive clearer, simpler information and warnings about days of high fire risk.

“If you are planning on holidaying during the summer, it is also vital to ensure you know the fire risk in the area you are visiting.”

The Total Fire Ban districts have been increased from five to nine, allowing the CFA to declare a total fire ban for a district, which would cover the same area as other important information such as the Fire Danger Ratings.

Mr Lim said the Brumby Labor Government introduced the new Fire Danger Ratings last year after the 2009 Victorian Bushfires Royal Commission’s interim report.

“It is very important for people to view the new boundaries and know which district they are in – they now need to remember only one.

“Under this new model it will be simpler for people to recognise the various warnings as they now only need to know one district for all.”

Among the changes:

  • the existing North Western Total Fire Ban district has been divided into two, the ‘Wimmera’ and the ‘Mallee’;
  • forming two new districts in the north, ‘North Central’ and ‘North Country’;
  • dividing the Eastern Total Fire Ban district into the new ‘West and South Gippsland’, and ‘East Gippsland’, and;
  • leaving the ‘South West’ and ‘Central’ districts unchanged, but aligning their boundaries to the weather districts and local government boundaries.

To find out which district you live in, or may visit during the fire season, Mr Lim urged all Victorians to visit to view the new boundaries and information on what a Total Fire Ban means.

Comments are closed.