Posted on 06. Jul, 2010 in News

Member for Clayton Hong Lim is urging innovative local scientists to get recognition for their work by nominating for the 2010 Department of Primary Industries (DPI) Science Awards.

Hong Lim said the awards recognised the importance of science in Victoria and its ability to help our agricultural sector meet current and future challenges.

“These awards have been presented since 1992 and recognise the important contribution science and innovation make to Victoria’s primary industries,” he said.

“Anyone who knows of a Victorian scientist they believe deserves recognition should nominate them.”

Hong Lim said the two awards available to the Victorian community were:

  • Hugh McKay Future Farming Award – $10,000 for the most innovative farmer to further their initiative.
  • Nancy Millis Postgraduate Award – $21,000 over three years for the most talented science graduate to undertake their PhD.


There are also two DPI staff awards available for excellence in both science research and practice change.

Hong Lim said nominations for the 2010 awards closed on Monday August 23, 2010 and winners would be announced at a ceremony in Melbourne in October.

For more information about the 2010 DPI Science Awards call the Customer Services Centre on 136 186, email or visit the DPI website –

Comments are closed.