Posted on 21. Jul, 2010 in Victoria

The newest members of the Victorian Disability Advisory Council met today to kick start their role in providing a voice for people living with a disability in Victoria.

Established in 2007, the Council plays an important role in ensuring Victorians with a disability receive the support and services they need by providing advice to the Minister for Community Services Lisa Neville about the issues facing people living with a disability.

Ms Neville welcomed the new Council members and said they had an opportunity to help shape the way Victorians with a disability can enjoy full participation in daily life.

“The Brumby Labor Government is committed to providing Victorians living with a disability with the support they need to live their lives to the fullest,” Ms Neville said.

“We are currently in the middle of the most significant reform of the disability sector, shifting away from the old style institutions and creating more opportunities for people to live independently by providing greater levels of support for individuals.

“We are giving people with a disability the power to choose the support they want to receive, where they want to live, what day programs they want to participate in. 

“It is important the views of people living with a disability are heard during this reform and this Council gives them that voice.

“Since the Council was set up they have helped us shape our review of the Mental Health Act, establish employment and education initiatives including Bar None campaigns, as well as providing advice about access to public transport and public buildings.”

The new Council comprises of 14 members, 10 of whom have a disability and seven are new to the Council.

Dr Rhonda Galbally AO, who has over 25 years experience of working in the public and community sector, will continue as chair of the Council.

Prominent disability advocate, Patricia Malowney has been appointed as the inaugural deputy chair for the Council’s second term. Other members of the Council for its second term are Lee Ann Basser, Wendy Brooks, Vrinda Edan, John Forster, Robyn Gaile, Phil Harper, Elizabeth Kelly, Catherine McAlpine, Robert Pask, Karleen Plunkett, Alan Robertson and Jody Saxton-Barney.

Ms Neville thanked the outgoing members for their tireless dedication in promoting the rights  people with a disability, particularly when serving on the Council.

For more information about the Victorian Disability Advisory Council, visit

Comments are closed.